ICED EARTH ‘Enter The Realm’ Demo 1st Time Vinyl / Ltd. Cassette Re-Release

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker, Senior Writer/Journalist ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway, Owner/Chief Editor

U.S. metal legends ICED EARTH seem to have been actively revisiting their roots as of late, beginning with the re-release of pre-Iced Earth band Purgatory’s five-song, self-titled EP back in December (as reported HERE).

Now the band announce the re-release of their first demo, ‘Enter The Realm’, originally released almost 30 years ago. Mastered from the original sources, it will be available for the first time on vinyl, as well as 30th anniversary edition cassette (limited to 300 copies). The re-release is scheduled to arrive April 12th 2019, exactly 30 years to the day that the original cassette was released in 1989.

The band comments:

We are very excited to announce the 30th anniversary release of the Enter The Realm demo! It’s being presented for the first time ever on vinyl! The band is offering exclusive hand numbered out of 200, 180 gram translucent blue color vinyl. It will feature a signed original 30 year old J-Card from the Enter The Realm cassette demo release, a poster of the amazing new artwork, a lyric sheet, and a wicked etching on side B.

Upon digging through the archives Jon [Schaffer, band guitarist and founder] uncovered a box that contained mint copies of the original J-cards and we are excited to announce a 30th anniversary edition cassette limited to 300 copies worldwide with original 30 year old J-cards. One amazing thing about this historic release is that it will come out on April 12th 2019, exactly 30 years to the day that the original cassette was released on April 12th 1989.


Track list:

01. Enter the Realm (0:56)
02. Colors (5:04)
03. Nightmares (3:42)
04. To Curse The Sky (4:45)
05. Solitude (1:43)
06. Iced Earth (5:33)

When issued in 1989, ‘Enter The Realm‘ captured ICED EARTH in their most raw form, a young band searching their way through the heavy metal underground. Seeking their place, the band at that time – Jon Schaffer (rhythm guitar, backing vocals), Gene Adams (vocals), Greg Seymour (drums), Dave Abell (bass), and Randy Shawver (lead guitar) – began building the legacy of the ICED EARTH we know today, and it all began with this pivotal offering.



Enter The Realm‘ EP / demo will be available in the following formats and available to pre-order at this LINK.

– Ltd. Digipak CD
– Black and colored vinyl (with 180 gram vinyl, etching, inlay and poster)
– Digitally

The vinyl pressing will be available in the following colors:

– Black vinyl: unlimited
– Transparent sun yellow: Limited to 100 copies, exclusive to CM Distro EU
– Red vinyl: Limited to 300 copies, exclusive to various mailorder stores
– Lilac vinyl: Limited to 200 copies, exclusive to Nuclear Blast
– White vinyl: Limited to 200 copies, exclusive to EMP
– Transparent blue vinyl: Limited to 200 copies, exclusive from the band *

* this band version includes a copy of the original demo tape inlay from 1989, signed by Jon Schaffer, Gene Adam, and Greg Seymour

, , , , , , ,