SILENT ASSASSINS [MIKE LEPOND of Symphony X] Returns With New Song Off ‘Pawn And Prophecy’

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

Mike LePond, best known as the bassist for long-running, progressive metal band Symphony X, has announced the studio return of his own project, Mike LePond’s Silent Assassins.

The band’s sophomore outing, ‘Pawn And Prophecy‘, will be issued from Frontiers Music Srl. on January 26, 2018. Following up from the incredible 2014 S/T outing from LePond’s solo effort, Mike has once again partnered with singer Alan Tecchio (Hades, Non-Fiction, Watchtower, ex-Seven Witches, etc.) and assembled an all-star cast of musicians.

Special guests include his Symphony X bandmates Michael Romeo and Michael Pinella along with others, such as Lance Barnewold, Rod Rivera, Andry Lagiou, Noa Gruman, Veronica Freeman, and Phyllis Rutter.

Today, the first song from ‘Pawn and Prophecy‘ has been made available for your listening pleasure. Check out “Avengers of Eden” below, about which LePond shared the following:

‘Avengers of Eden’ is based on ‘The Doom That Came To Sarnath’ by H.P. Lovecraft. It’s one of the faster tracks on the record. The main riff was inspired by Van Halen’s, “House Of Pain”. I turned that up to Motorhead/Exciter speed with a Dio style vocal.

This song is not the only one with great literary ties as the ‘Pawn And Prophecy‘ title track is a 21-minute opus based on William Shakespeare’s ‘Macbeth‘, where Mike and company have essentially written a heavy metal soundtrack to the classic tale.

The upcoming album from Mike LePond’s Silent Assassins is sure to be an explosive foray into classic-inspired power metal. Chock full of headbanging riffs, kick-ass vocals, and lyrics telling epic tales drawing influences from the classic metal bands of the ’80s to the Viking/Folk metal of today.

Pre-order ‘Pawn And Prophecy‘ now at this location.

01. Masters Of The Hall
02. Black Legend
03. Antichrist
04. I Am The Bull
05. Avengers Of Eden
06. Hordes Of Fire
07. The Mulberry Tree
08. Pawn And Prophecy

, , , , ,