AT THE GATES Reveals New ‘To Drink From The Night Itself’ Album Details & Title Track Video

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

Swedish extreme metal legends At The Gates have unveiled details of their new studio album,To Drink From The Night Itself‘.

It will arrive from Century Media Records on May 18th. The new record was produced by Russ Russell (Napalm Death, Dimmu Borgir), and a video directed by Patric Ullaeus (In Flames, Arch Enemy) for the first single will be debuting shortly. Vocalist Tomas Lindberg commented on the album, its artwork, and more, saying:

It has once again been an absolute pleasure working creatively with Costin [Chioreanu.] We had a lot of ideas for what we wanted to get across with the art this time around. Overall they were, not surprisingly, related to the general concept of the record. What is great with Costin is that he understands the band.

He knows what we are and where we come from. And me and him also have a strong artistic connection. I have never met anyone that goes so deep into the world of my lyrics and concepts. When I first wrote to him describing my ideas, I was worried that my remarks were perhaps too long and too confusing, only to get back an even longer and very inspired response…

The inspiration for the actual front cover piece is taken from the Pergamon Altar, on display at the Pergamon museum in Berlin. It is of course linked closely to the concept that the whole record is based upon, but more on that later. But I will throw a name out there, for the interested ones; Peter Weiss.

I can’t wait to get the whole record in my hands now, as this is just one of the many great artwork pieces that Costin has created for us on ‘To Drink From The Night Itself‘…

That sentiment is shared by many metal fans, as well. Check out the brand new Official Video for the “To Drink From The Night Itself” title track below.

01. Der Widerstand
02. To Drink From The Night Itself
03. A Stare Bound In Stone
04. Palace Of Lepers
05. Daggers Of Black Haze
06. The Chasm
07. In Nameless Sleep
08. The Colours Of The Beast
09. A Labyrinth Of Tombs
10. Seas Of Starvation
11. In Death They Shall Burn
12. The Mirror Black


, , , , , ,