Oldschool Sunday: ODIN

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

The Eighties metal deities known as ODIN were poised to conquer the world at one point in that bygone decade.

The Los Angeles-based ODIN formed in 1982, and were one of the earliest pioneers of the L.A. progressive power metal / hard rock scene. Eventually, the band played to sold-out crowds with the likes of W.A.S.P., Armored Saint, Dokken, Steeler, The Plasmatics, Alcatrazz, and more.

Before all of that, the quintet of singer Randy O. Roberg, guitarists Jeff Duncan and Brad Parker, bassist Aaron Samson, and drummer Shawn Duncan would issue their first official recording in 1983.  The ‘Caution!‘ 7″ vinyl single arrived that year from the label simply known as Duff.

The band’s technically-proficient, twin guitar-fueled metal was quickly embraced by the music-loving masses populating the City Of Angels. A couple of EP releases, 1985’s ‘Don’t Take No For An Answer‘ (Half Wet Records) and 1987’s independently released ‘The Gods Must Be Crazy‘, only cemented the rising band’s popularity firmly into place.

Now operating as a quartet, by the time ODIN released the 1988 full-length ‘Fight For Your Life‘ from Victor Records, Brad Parker had exited the band. Yet, as well-received as the album was, no one was prepared for the exposure ODIN would receive that same year when they were included in the Penelope Spheeris documentary ‘Decline Of Western Civilization Part 2: The Metal Years‘.

Not only did ODIN appear in the film, but two of their songs, “Little Gypsy” and “12 O’Clock High” were also featured in the film and OST. Despite that recognition and the band being one of the hottest acts in the L.A. scene at the time, ODIN would disband in the late Eighties.

Guitarist Jeff Duncan went on to join Armored Saint, of which he is still a member, as well as DC4 alongside his brother, ODIN drummer Shawn Duncan, brother Matt Duncan, and guitarist Rowan Robertson (ex-Dio).

ODIN In ‘Decline Of Western Civilization Part 2: The Metal Years‘:

Singer Randy O. Roberg released the highly popular, post-ODINLostboys’ LP, via Atlantic Records in 1990, and is currently wrapping up his first solo album, ‘Coming Home’.

Speaking of coming home, ODIN reunited for a one-off show in 2003, with their classic lineup featuring vocalist Randy O. Roberg, guitarist Jeff Duncan, bassist Aaron Samson, and drummer Shawn Duncan. The band continues to play several shows each year and since their original dissolution, two compilations, ‘By The Gods’ (2001) and ‘Best Of’ (2009), along with a 2008 EP, ‘Human Animal’, have been issued.

That was ODIN then, now let’s take a look at ODIN now, as a bevy of news concerning them was announced just this week…

ODIN has signed with EMP Label Group, which will reissue much of their classic catalog, including upcoming reissues of ‘Don’t Take No For An Answer’ and ‘Fight For Your Life’.  The limited-edition (300 pcs.) vinyl reissue of ‘Don’t Take No For An Answer’ will be in stores on April 20th, while a pre-order is active now HERE.

ODIN will continue their legacy of L.A. domination when the band headlines The Whisky on April 21st, for an album release show [TICKETS].

ODIN Lives!!!

, , , , , ,