FOTOCRIME Shares ‘Principle Of Pain’ Debut Details & New Song; Tour Dates

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

One of the more unique, interesting bands to surface in the last couple of years, one with ties to my old Kentucky home, unveils details of their debut full-length.

FOTOCRIME will release their full-length debut album, ‘Principle Of Pain‘, via Golden Antenna Records on May 18th. FOTOCRIME is, of course, the latest musical entity of Coliseum mastermind Ryan Patterson, who introduced people to the band with a couple of prior EP releases.

The project’s emotionally dark, post-punk, electronica-fused music is the perfect vehicle to elicit fears sound-tracked by massive beats, warm synths, and guitars that veer from chiming cleans to blown out fuzz. Just check out the newly released audio-only track “The Rose And The Thorn“, along with the previously shared “Nadia (Last Year’s Men)” below.

Ryan commented on the song, saying: “‘The Rose And The Thorn’ began as a mixture of a few seemingly disparate sources of inspiration. The opening repeating guitar line came to me as a nod to UK anarcho punk a la Crisis and The Mob, while the highway-bound cinematic tone was directly looking to some of Roy Orbison’s final recordings. My demos of the song never quite gelled, I thought it would be cut from the recording session but it became something special in the studio and ended up becoming a standout on the album and a live favorite. It also contains some of my favorite lyrical imagery, inspired by countless nights watching the lines on the road lead to lackluster hotels that all coalesce into memories that seem half dreamed and half real.

Principle Of Pain‘ was produced by Patterson’s longtime friend and collaborator, J. Robbins, and features contributions from a small handful of friends, including future FOTOCRIME band members Shelley Anderson and Nick Thieneman.

The album’s original cover artwork was painted by artist Noelia Towers, renowned for her beautiful, challenging artwork depicting elements of BDSM and feminine power. An in-demand painter and apparel designer, this is her first commissioned album artwork.

Pre-order for the FOTOCRIMEPrinciple Of Pain‘ album is active now HERE while you can catch them on tour at the dates listed below.

5.17.18 – Detroit | Cellarmens
5.18.18 – London | Call The Office
5.19.18 – Toronto | Bovine Sex Club
5.20.18 – Ottawa | Makerspace North
5.22.18 – Rochester | Bug Jar
5.23.18 – Baltimore | Metro Gallery
5.24.18 – Cincinnati | Northside Yacht Club


01. Nadia (Last Year’s Men)
02. Love In A Dark Time
03. Don’t Pity The Young
04. The Rose And The Thorn
05. Autonoir
06. Gods In The Dark
07. Enduring Chill
08. Infinite Hunger For Love
09. Confusing World

10. The Soft Skin



, , , , , , ,