WITHERFALL ‘A Prelude To Sorrow’ Album Details & Official Video; Supporting KAMELOT Japan Dates

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

Progressive power metal band WITHERFALL announces the upcoming arrival of their sophomore album release, ‘A Prelude To Sorrow‘.

The anxiously awaited follow-up to 2017’s smashing breakthrough, ‘Nocturnes And Requiems’, will be released via Century Media Records on November 2nd. For ‘A Prelude To Sorrow‘, WITHERFALL‘s main songwriters, Joseph Michael (vocals, Sanctuary-live) and Jake Dreyer – along with Anthony Crawford (bass), Fili Bibiano (guitar), and Steve Bolognese (drums) – once again worked with producer Chris “Zeuss” Harris (Sanctuary, Queensryche).

Along with revelations of the upcoming album release details and pre-order options (including limited edition color vinyl formats), comes the première of the first single’s official video, “Ode To Despair“.

The band shared this about the song:

” ‘Ode To Despair’ was the first composition that was completed for “A Prelude To Sorrow” so it only seems fitting to start off with this track. Its origin traces back to around 2016 when we were figuring out what to do with Sagan being sick and unable to perform. Fueled by red wine and only a glimmer of the sorrow that was to come “Ode” took only one writing session to complete.

The video was shot over the two month span that we were in the studio tracking “A Prelude To Sorrow” and watching the video brings you into the world we inhabited for what seems like an eternity… Special thanks to Don Adams and his masochistic tendencies and keen editor’s eye. Stay tuned for more…”

The song is a phenomenal first taste of what’s to come with the new recording, once again establishing the broad spectrum of stylistic influences the band possesses. At times both haunting and profoundly touching, the track’s wide musical swath encompasses classically tinged melodic rock, as well as explosive modern metal elements.

The incredible album artwork that adorns ‘A Prelude To Sorrow‘ was once again created by returning artist Kristian Wåhlin.


01. A Prelude To Sorrow
02. We Are Nothing
03. Moment Of Silence
04. Communion Of The Wicked
05. Maridian’s Visitation
06. Shadows
07. Ode To Despair
08. The Call
09. Vintage

10. Epilogue

A Prelude To Sorrow‘ will be released as a Limited Edition Digipak, jewel case CD (in U.S. only), gatefold 2LP (with poster and etching on Side D), as well as digital album. Find all pre-order options HERE.

The two limited color vinyl formats mentioned above are available in specific numbers exclusively at these links:

400 ct. transparent blue vinyl – LINK  | 200 ct. clear vinyl – LINK 

On a related note, WITHERFALL will be providing support for two very special shows with KAMELOT in Japan this November. You can find the shows listed below the video clip.


Wed. Nov. 28 – @ SI IIBUYA TSUTAYA O – EAST, Tokyo
Thu. Nov. 29 – @ UMEDA CLUB QUATTRO, Osaka


, , , , , ,