LORD ALMIGHTY Stream New Track “Hour By Hour” From Upcoming ‘Wither’ Album

Article by: Leanne Ridgeway

Hard-to-pigeonhole black metal-centered outfit LORD ALMIGHTY proudly announces their upcoming second album, ‘Wither‘. Set for release on Friday, October 16th, it is the follow up to the group’s 2015 debut album, ‘Paths‘.

The Boston, Massachusetts-based group has been active since 2013, and continues to craft a unique crushing mix of black metal blasts and rock and roll melodics that is stylistically ever-evolving into the present. All great works of art need time to gestate and emerge fully formed, an ethos the mercurial musicians in LORD ALMIGHTY are guided by and which helped shape ‘Wither‘ into the impressive work of art that it is over several years of development.

Although the band’s base inclination is rooted in black metal past and present, their love for NWOBHM, sludge, hardcore, blues rock, and more is what elevates ‘Wither‘ far beyond being merely another black metal release with nothing new to offer. If you could fathom Darkthrone, Kvelertak, and Trash Talk joining forces with Mastodon, ZZ Top, and Thin Lizzy, you’d arrive at the expansive and fluid approach to cross-genre pollination LORD ALMIGHTY is incredibly adept at. On ‘Wither‘, the band has transcended genre norms and created an epic world all their own that may surely be loved by a variety of metalheads.


“‘Wither’ is an album that really was written over a few years. There were plenty of experiences along the way that continued our descent into madness.

It was a hazy time looking through smoke and double vision. Conceptually we had a lot of different emotions and life experiences that culminated to what you hear.

If you listen hard enough, you might even hear the crackle of the fire in our building where we lived or the cops pounding on the doors. Or maybe even the dreams in which we envisioned when we found ourselves without homes.”



01. Cry of the Earth
02. Sundown
03. Mercy
04. Rise
05. V
06. Despite
07. Stifled
08. Adrift
09. Hour by Hour
10. Wither
11. Hooded Three

Cover art for ‘Wither‘ was handled by Adam O’ Day. The album is set for independent release on October 16th, and pre-order is available on digital via Bandcamp [link] or on vinyl format through the band’s website [link].

For now, you can get a sneak peek of the ‘Wither’ album by way of the first two singles available streaming in audio on Bandcamp, as well as the new video option for the song “Hour By Hour.” Both options are streaming below and, in my opinion, well worth a listen – “hard to pigeonhole” is quite accurate. It’s growing vines of intrigue on me, minute by minute…




Keenan Carroll – Vocals, Guitar
Samuel “Goose” Willgoose – Lead Guitar
Phill Gelinas – Bass Guitar
Christopher Narainen – Drums

Facebook | Instagram | WebsiteYouTube | Spotify | Bandcamp | Merch


, , , , , ,

1 thought on “LORD ALMIGHTY Stream New Track “Hour By Hour” From Upcoming ‘Wither’ Album

Comments are closed.