LOFT ‘Hail To The Sun’ EP Review, Stream & NYP Item

(By Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker, Lead Journalist/Writer,

We last left England’s Loft with their 2015 EP début ‘Empires and now the lads are back with a thundering new offering, “Hail To The Sun“.  

Those lads, singer Rob Summers, guitarists Denn Leavy and Bob Barnes, bassist Phil Rollason and drummer Tats McGee, clearly channel influences from acts like Unida, Hermano or House Of Broken Promises.  That’s evident in the overall music direction of the new five-song effort, a slab of rock goodness laden with melodic elements.

Both are offset with bluesy touches, but the energy levels are, and will always remain, pegged in the red.  For instance, intro song “Icarus” is a thick riffer with pulsating rhythms and tight-knit playing.

In fact, such is basically the template used to garner fantastic results in each of these songs.  Sometimes it is modified with a bit of slower grooves, like those on the terrific track “Kraken” or the fearsome “Revolutions“.

All in all, Loft‘s “Hail To The Sun” is a heat intensive scorcher of an EP, one that isn’t pretentious or watered down in any way.  Simply put, you can say that this is pure, unfiltered rock ‘n roll devoid of any undue bells or whistles.

What you see and hear is what you get and speaking of that, you can stream the EP and get it as an NYP (Name Your Price) item now via the Bandcamp embed below.

, , , , ,