Every Mother's Nightmare

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

Memphis, Tennessee’s Every Mother’s Nightmare was a massively popular band during the Nineties. They signed with Clive Davis’ Arista Records and garnered regular airplay on MTV with a string of highly popular songs.

At the time, EMN shared stages with many well-known bands as they issued fantastic album after fantastic album. However, in the massively popular music directional shift of the early 2000s, Every Mother’s Nightmare lost footing in the scene, as so many great bands did at that time.

The band released their last recorded studio effort in 2002 and eventually entered a lengthy period of inactivity. Until 2015. A then-reactivated Every Mother’s Nightmare returns with a self-released EP, ‘Grind’.

It contains the single “Loco Crazy” featuring a guest appearance by Zach Myers of Shinedown on guitar, with a companion video. The EP also features Wayne Swinny of Saliva on guitar in the opening track, “Snake“.

01. Loco Crazy
02. Snake
03. Upper Hand
04. Blown Away
05. Sacred Circle
06. Days Are Through
07. Stand Up
08. Swing
09. Closet (Live)
10. Walls (Live)
11. Push (Live)

2017. Every Mother’s Nightmare signed with HighVolMusic earlier this year, for their first full-length release in 15 years. ‘Grind‘. It will be released on October 6, 2017, distributed through MRI/Sony Red, and features a total of 11 tracks.

The enhanced CD contains the five tracks from the self-released EP, plus three brand new studio tracks, three new live tracks recorded during the band’s performance at Minglewood Hall in Memphis, TN on August 21, 2016. It also has the new video for “Push“, along with the videos for “Blown Away” and “Loco Crazy“.

The studio tracks on ‘Grind’ were produced by Justin Rimer at Cross Trax Studios; while the live tracks were produced by David Cowell at Cleaved Owl Productions, with mastering by Brad Blackwood at Euphonic Masters.

The project also features appearances by Jim Dandy (THE Jim Dandy of Black Oak Arkansas fame) who guests on “Stand Up”, along with the aforementioned cameos of Zach Myers and Wayne Swinny.

Check out the Official Videos released from ‘Grindbelow.

Every Mother’s Nightmare circa 2017 is:

Rick Ruhl (lead vocals)
Lonnie Hammer (drums)
Travis “Gunner” Butler (guitar)
Troy Fleming (bass)
John Guttery (guitar)



, , , , , , , , ,