APPICE [Carmine & Vinny] Shares “Monsters And Heroes” Video & ‘Sinister’ Debut Album Details

(Pic Courtesy Of Joey Wester)
Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

For more than forty years, the brothers Carmine and Vinny Appice have individually established themselves as two of the world’s most renowned drummers.

Carmine embarked on his journey behind the kit in the 1960s with Vanilla Fudge and with the likes of Rod Stewart and Ozzy Osbourne from there. His brother Vinny, who is eleven years his junior, has worked with acts like Black Sabbath, Heaven & Hell, DIO, and more.

Interestingly, with the exception of the live album ‘Drum Wars – Live!‘ in 2014, there has been no direct collaboration between the two so far. That’s about to change! APPICE will release ‘Sinister‘ on October 27 through SPV/Steamhammer as CD digipack, double gatefold vinyl, download, and stream.

The brothers have amassed an amazing roster of musicians and contributors to perform on the pair’s debut album together. The astounding list includes guitarists such as Craig Goldy, Joel Hoekstra, Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal, and more. Bassists and vocalists include Tony Franklin, Johnny Rod, Phil Soussan, Paul Shortino, Robin McAuley, Chas West and others. A full listing can be found below.

The lyric video for the song “Monsters And Heroes” can now be seen below. Carmine Appice comments on the song and lyric video:

The song ‘Monsters And Heroes’ is a song about the great Ronnie James Dio. The song is a tribute to his legacy. The track features both Vinny and I on drums as well as special guest Paul Shortino (who wrote the lyrics) handling the vocal duties. We all knew Ronnie very well and wanted to do this video so everyone can see what a great tribute this is to Ronnie. Check it out it is a piece of rock art!!!

Adds Vinny: “‘Monsters And Heroes’ is special song that was inspired by the greatest singer and person in rock! My friend Ronnie James Dio. This is a special tribute to the man who gave us such great music and words and also took the time for all his fans who he loved.


01. Sinister
02. Monsters And Heroes
03. Killing Floor
04. Danger
05. Drum Wars
06. Riot
07. Suddenly
08. In The Night
09. Future Past
10. You Got Me Running
11. Bros In Drums
12. War Cry
13. Sabbath Mash

Lineup and Guests:

Carmine Appice – Drums, Vocals
Vinny Appice – Drums

Jim Crean – Vocals
Paul Shortino – Vocals (Rough Cutt, ex-Quiet Riot)
Robin McAuley – Vocals (MSG)
Chas West – Vocals (ex-Lynch Mob)
Scotty Bruce – Vocals

Craig Goldy – Guitar (ex-DIO, ex-Giuffria)
Bumblefoot – Guitar (ex-Guns N’ Roses)
Joel Hoekstra – Guitar (Whitesnake)
Mike Sweda – Guitar (Bulletboys)
Erik Turner – Guitar (Warrant)
David Michael Phillips – Guitar (King Kobra)

Tony Franklin – Bass (ex-Blue Murder, ex-The Firm)
Phil Soussan – Bass (ex-Ozzy Osbourne)
Johnny Rod – Bass (King Kobra, ex-W.A.S.P.)
Jorgen Carlson – Bass (Gov’t Mule)


, , , , ,