WE SELL THE DEAD Shares New Video From February Debut [Spiritual Beggars, In Flames, Firewind Mbrs.]

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

We Sell The Dead, featuring vocalist Apollo Papathanasio (Spiritual Beggars, Firewind), Niclas Engelin (In Flames, Engel), Jonas Slättung (Drömriket), Gas Lipstick (ex-HIM), have released a video for “Turn It Over“. The song arrives from the group’s debut album, ‘Heaven Doesn’t Want You And Hell Is Full, out on February 23rd via earMUSIC.

Watch the video below along with the previously shared “Echoes Of An Ugly Past” official video. The song here, and We Sell The Dead’s music in general, is a very gothic rock type offering. The band has stated that they were immensely influenced by one query, it being: “What if Jack the Ripper had played in a band? A heavy metal band?

Despite the mission statement’s pondering, We Sell The Dead temper their retro vibes with a very modern way of storytelling. Explains Jonas Slättung:

From the late 1800, an era that has inspired our band enormously, comes one of the greatest and darkest crime mysteries of them all: Jack the Ripper. We don’t know 100% who he was but we know his horrendous deeds. All the visuals we had in our mind, combined with the sometimes slightly morbid lyrics, made us think that this is what music would have sounded like if heavy metal had existed in the 19th century, or if Jack the Ripper had travelled forward in time to join a metal band. We Sell The Dead would have been his natural choice for a backing band. He probably would have felt right at home with us.

But, at the same time, the world hasn’t exactly evolved into a beautiful place since the 1880’s. In the 1979 movie, Time After Time, Jack the Ripper escapes justice by, indeed, fleeing in a time machine to 1979. After getting caught by his followers, The Ripper utters this line of wisdom: – back in 1893, I was a monster. Today… I’m an amateur.

Indeed. Sounds intriguing, does it not?

‘Heaven Doesn’t Want You And Hell Is Full’ will be released on CD, LP, and Digital formats. Pre-order links below:

CD | LP | Digital

Heaven Doesn’t Want You And Hell Is Full tracklist:

01. The Body Market
02. Echoes Of An Ugly Past
03. Leave Me Alone
04. Imagine
05. Turn It Over
06. Too Cold To Touch
07. Trust
08. Pale And Perfect
09. Silent Scream



, , , ,