PINK FLOYD ‘Relics’ Compilation Sees Vinyl Re-Release

Pink Floyd Relics

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

On May 18th, progressive psych-rock legends Pink Floyd will re-release their 1971 compilation album ‘Relics’ on heavyweight 180-gram vinyl.

Remastered in 2018 by James Guthrie, Joel Plante, and Bernie Grundman, this re-release comes nearly five decades after the pressing of the original album. Pink Floyd’s first ‘compilation’ album, ‘Relics’ includes singles, B-sides, and tracks from the band’s first three albums: ‘The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn’, ‘A Saucerful Of Secrets’, and ‘More’.

A then-previously unreleased Roger Waters song, “Biding My Time“, recorded in July 1969, was first released in 1971’s ‘Relics’. The album was the first to include “Arnold Layne” and “See Emily Play“, which previously had only been released as singles. Also, the original studio recording of “Careful With That Axe, Eugene” – the B-side of 1968’s “Point Me At The Sky” – was another rarity added.

Keeping true to the original artwork, the sleeve features the black and white drawings by Nick Mason, carrying the iconic subtitle ‘A Bizarre Collection of Antiques & Curios’. All tracks are the original stereo versions, which sit alongside the Syd Barrett-era, mono mixed singles “Arnold Layne” and “See Emily Play“.

Find purchase info for ‘Relics‘ at the Pink Floyd website.

Pink Floyd Relics


Open in Spotify

, , , , ,