SOLILOQUIUM Shares ‘Contemplations’ Full Album Stream

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

On June 1st, Sweden’s SOLILOQUIUM will release its sophomore full-length album ‘Contemplations through Transcending Records.

The anxiously awaited follow-up to the band’s 2016 ‘Empty Frame’ debut finds the trio delving into the murkiest depths of Peaceville Records style death/doom metal. The new recording was once again produced by Mike Watts (Sleepwalkers, Terminus), who also handles the drums on this outing.

Rife with gloomy, brooding doom channeling lamentations of melodic melancholy, ‘Contemplations‘ is an aptly titled effort. Reflective moods are fueled by its somber tranquility but there’s also enough rousing heaviness to offset those depressive elements.

The music – which is graced by growled guttural vocals and sullen, emotive cleans both – draws clear influence from old school doom metal bands such as Paradise Lost, My Dying Bride and Katatonia. The duo of Stefan Nordström (Guitars & Vocals) and Jonas Bergkvist (Bass) – both of Desolator – are the pair at the heart of SOLILOQUIUM

Check it out for yourself down below, and if you like what you hear, you can pre-order the album HERE.

Contemplations tracklist:

01. Chains
02. Catharsis
03. Streetlights
04. Unfulfilling Prophecy
05. 22
06. For the Accursed
07. In Affect
08. Wanderlust

, , , , , , ,