VOIVOD Unveils New ‘The Wake’ Album Details & Official Video

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

As recently reported HERE, the Canadian sci-fi progressive metallers VOIVOD are gearing up to release a new full-length album.

The Wake‘ will arrive through Century Media Records on September 21st and today we unveil its artwork and tracklist. The band’s fourteenth studio album was recorded and mixed by Francis Perron at RadicArt Recording Studio in Canada. The album’s artwork was once again created by VOIVOD drummer Michel Away Langevin.

Guitarist Daniel Chewy Mongrain checked in with the following comment:

It is with great enthusiasm and pride that we will soon share with you the fruit of two years of labor in the form of an intricate, intense and colorful journey with our new album ‘The Wake’, expanding the boundaries of VOIVOD‘s multiverse!

We have an official video premiere from the recording “Obsolete Beings“, the opening track from the album. The clip was directed and edited by Eric Massicotte and Pierre Duplessis and is streaming below.

The Wake tracklist:

01. Obsolete Beings
02. The End Of Dormancy
03. Orb Confusion
04. Iconspiracy
05. Spherical Perspective
06. Event Horizon
07. Always Moving
08. Sonic Mycelium

The U.S. CD release of The Wake will also be available as a 2-CD digipak edition, with a bonus disc of 11 tracks featuring the five songs off 2016’s Post Society EP, as well six live tracks from 2018’s 70000 Tons Of Metal cruise.

This is the tracklist for the bonus disc:

Post Society‘ EP

01. Post Society
02. Forever Mountain
03. Fall
04. We Are Connected
05. Silver Machine

Live At 70000 Tons Of Metal Cruise 2018:

06. Inner Combustion (Live 2018)
07. Order Of The Blackguards (Live 2018)
08. Psychic Vacuum (Live 2018)
09. Lost Machine (Live 2018)
10. Fall (Live 2018)
11. Voivod (Live 2018)

Last but not least, VOIVOD is also making a collectible 7” EP available on August 31st. The 7” EP for the album track “Always Moving” will feature “Order Of The Blackguards (Live 2018)” as the B-Side and is limited to a total of 1,000 copies, available in the following editions:

– Black 7 Inch: 500x copies / CM Distro Europe
– Lilac 7 Inch: 100x copies / CM Webshop Europe
– Clear 7 Inch: 200x copies / CM Distro Europe
– Transparent Red 7 Inch: 200x / Band edition available on tour


, , , , , ,