UNCLE ACID & THE DEADBEATS To Release ‘Wasteland’ Album In Oct.; Desert Daze Fest

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

England’s magnificent retro psych-rock band UNCLE ACID & THE DEADBEATS announce the upcoming arrival of a new album release.

Wasteland‘ will be issued on October 12th from Rise Above Records and promises to be the band’s most immersive recording yet. Today’s revelations include the album artwork, tracklist, and some commentary from the mastermind mystic behind the band, Kevin Starrs.

He offers the following about ‘Wasteland‘:

There’s not enough melody or harmony in new music for my liking. I wanted to go even further with all of that this time, and really force it down people’s throats! It’s important to me that someone keeps it going, especially in heavy music. I always write to my own tastes, so as long as it appeals to me, I don’t really think about it. But I would say that it’s all been an instinctive progression.”



01. I See Through You
02. Shockwave City
03. No Return
04. Blood Runner
05. Stranger Tonight
06. Wasteland
07. Bedouin
08. Exodus

Then adds this about the recording sessions at L.A.’s Sunset Sound:

We recorded the basic tracks the way we always do. Everyone in one room, live and straight to tape. We worked with a great engineer called Geoff Neal (Nine Inch Nails/Motörhead/Fuzz), who really understood what we were going for and how to capture it. Playing in the same room where so many classic albums were made definitely inspired us. Even small things like running the guitars through the same echo chamber that Van Halen used in the ’70s, it all added to the overall experience.”

You may have a chance to hear some of the songs from ‘Wasteland‘ live at UNCLE ACID & THE DEADBEATS only 2018 North American show. It will occur when they perform at the Desert Daze Festival in Lake Perris, CA, the weekend of October 12th – 14th [INFO].


, , , , , ,