FIRESPAWN Shares “The Gallows End” Video Off ‘Abominate’ Album

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

Swedish death metal “supergroup” FIRESPAWN releases the official video for their song “The Gallows End“, which is one of the tracks from their new album arriving this week.

Abominate‘ is the third full-length studio album from FIRESPAWN and it will arrive June 7th from Century Media Records. Featuring Lars Göran LG Petrov (vocals; Entombed), Victor Brandt (guitar; Entombed), Alex Friberg (bass; Necrophobic), Fredrik Folkare (guitar; Unleashed), and Matte Modin (drums; Dark Funeral), the band channels old-school extremity for the modern age.

Despite their nod to classic musical brutality, they are also quick to make clear that they are not merely rehashing that which has already been done. Bassist Alex Friberg elaborates:

On this album, we pushed ourselves more then before outside our comfort zone. You will hear a lot more heavy metal influences on this album.

We never aimed to be a death metal band in the ordinary death metal genre. We make exactly the kind of music that we like and that is more to the extreme side but we always try new things and think outside the box and that is what’s so great with FIRESPAWN. Always refreshing great fucking metal! This album is no exception, quite the opposite. On ‘Abominate’, we explore new ground that not many death metal bands has before. Listen to it and you’ll know what I’m talking about.

Today’s video is a prime example of the band’s ability to incorporate groove and thrash metal-oriented elements into their music. The song also contains some of the most aggressive vocals yet in Petrov’s long-running tenure as one of extreme metal’s most respected voices. The video for “The Gallows End” was directed by Mattias Björkbacka and is the latest track to surface from the new recording, following the previous songs, “The Great One” and “The Hunter“.

Abominate‘ features artwork created by Paolo Girardi and comes after two previous, well-received album releases, 2017’s ‘The Reprobate‘, and 2015’s ‘Shadow Realms‘. The album will be released this Friday, June 7th from Century Media and is available to pre-order HERE.



01. The Gallows End
02. Death And Damnation
03. Abominate
04. Heathen Blood
05. The Great One
06. Cold Void
07. The Hunter
08. Godlessness
09. Blind Kingdom
10. The Undertaker
11. Black Wings Of The Apokalypse


, , , , ,