FIVE HORSE JOHNSON Announces New LP ‘Jake Leg Boogie’; Title Track Streaming

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

Despite speculation to the contrary, Ohio’s smoldering stoner blues band Five Horse Johnson is active and has a new record on tap. They have just announced that ‘Jake Leg Boogie‘ will see the light of day from Small Stone Records on June 30th.

To formally reintroduce the band, they are sharing the upcoming album’s title track today. This will be the band’s eighth studio album and sees Five Horse Johnson rejoined by original drummer Tim Gahagan. His presence has clearly revitalized fellow members Brad Coffin (guitar), Eric Oblander (vocals / harmonica), Phil Durr (guitar), and Steve Smith (bass).

Oblander shared the following about today’s revelations, saying:

“Having original drummer Tim back in the band made writing Jake Leg Boogie so much damn fun. If feels like we’re back to Fat Black Pussycat form. This time around we channeled a little more Hendrix and Funkadelic as much as the usual bluesy Aerosmith insanity. All the songs are a bit more stripped down, and have a deep-pocket groove thanks in part to Tim locking it down. Brad had a lot to do with the overall creation of this record. He came up with the concept for the title, and sings more than half the songs this time around. We can’t wait to hit the road with thing and flex these new songs live!”

‘Jake Leg Boogie’ was recorded at Rustbelt Studios, with longtime producer Al Sutton (Big Chief, Novadriver, Halfway To Gone, Detroit Cobras) and Dave Cobb (All Them Witches, Rival Sons) assisting. The artwork was provided by noted graphic artist and longtime Five Horse Johnson collaborator Mark Dancey, keeping with a tradition established on 1999’s ‘Fat Black Pussycat’.

Jake Leg Boogie
01. Jake Leg Boogie
02. Magic Man
03. Cryin’ Shame
04. Ropes And Chains
05. Hard Times
06. Smoke Show
07. Little Lonely
08. Overload
09. Daddy Was A Gun

10. Last Song

, , , , , ,