POISON BLOOD Unveil EP Artwork; Streaming New Song ‘Circles Of Salt’

(By Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker, Lead Journalist/Writer, RiffRelevant.com)

Recent Relapse Records signees Poison Blood, a collaboration between Horseback’s Jenks Miller and Krieg’s Neill Jameson, will release their self-titled debut EP next week.  

It will be out worldwide on August 11th on CD, LP, and Digital formats as physical pre-orders and exclusive bundles are currently available via Relapse.com at this location and digital pre-orders are available via Bandcamp here.

The album artwork was unveiled today, created by Viral Graphics, along with the track list.  Speaking of today, the duo are making another new track available for streaming, “Circles Of Salt“.

Neill Jameson comments on the ambient textured new song saying:

“‘Circles Of Salt’ is probably the one track on the record that truly strays away from the source material, by being closer in feeling to some of the weirder black metal that came out in a pre-Xasthur age.  

Because of this, I wanted to approach it in a less direct way than anything else on the record and, like I said, with it having more of an old depressive feeling to it, I thought about what I would do if I were recording it in the mid to late 1990s, which is that I’d give it more of a ‘Forgotten Woods’ vocal style and have it mixed backwards from how I recorded it to give it a more paranoid frenetic feeling with undertones of Danzig IV.

The title itself is a nod to ‘The Banner’, but also fits the mood of the song, a somewhat morose comfort which lends itself to protection from the misplaced and unrealistic optimism of the naïve world.

Poison Blood track listing:

“The Scourge And The Gestalt”
“Deformed Lights”
“Myths From The Desert”
“A Cracked And Desolate Sky”
“The Flower Of Serpents”
“Shelter Beneath The Sea”
“From The Lash”
“Circles Of Salt”

, , , , , , ,