STONE TEMPLE PILOTS To Release 25th Anniversary Edition Of ‘Core’ With Bonus Material

(By Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker, Lead Journalist/Writer,

When I think back to 1992 and the explosion of grunge and other killer music from that period, one of the highlight releases is the Stone Temple Pilot’s debut, “Core“. STP seemed to storm on to the scene with the record which, once released, would peak at No. 3 on the Billboard charts. It infected listeners with singles like “Sex Type Thing” and “Wicked Garden,” and was eventually certified eight times platinum by the RIAA. Now, 25 years later, the band will be celebrating this achievement with an upcoming deluxe edition of the album laden with tons of bonus material, some of which has never been released. 

For Stone Temple Pilots’ Core deluxe edition, Rhino Records is releasing a 4CD/DVD (Sept. 29th) version of the record that tracks the album’s history. On the first disc, fans can hear a newly remastered version of Core from front to back. The second disc features a variety of demos and B-Sides from the album, including some never before heard versions of fan favorite songs.

The third disc takes you on to the concert stage, capturing what STP sounded like in their prime, providing two live performances from the band back in 1993 at the Castaic Lake Natural Amphitheater as well as the Reading Festival. The fourth CD is the band’s MTV Unplugged session, on disc for the first time in history. As a bonus, there is a DVD that features Core like you’ve never heard before, with the album in a full 5.1 surround sound mix, and a variety of music videos from the initial album cycle.

Yes, it is a lot to take in but clearly an essential must-have for any true, bona-fide fan of Stone Temple Pilots. You can pre-order your copy of Core: 25th Anniversary reissue from Stone Temple Pilots website. Check out the track listings for the discs below.

Make sure to also check out material from the release further below.

Disc One: Original Album Remastered
1. “Dead & Bloated”
2. “Sex Type Thing”
3. “Wicked Garden”
4. “No Memory”
5. “Sin”
6. “Naked Sunday”
7. “Creep”
8. “Piece if Pie”
9. “Plush”
10. “Wet My Bed”
11. “Crackerman”
12. “Where the River Goes”

Disc Two: Demos And B-sides
1. “Only Dying” – Demo *
2. “Wicked Garden” – Demo *
3. “Naked Sunday” – Demo *
4. “Where the River Goes” – Demo *
5. “Dead & Bloated” – Demo *
6. “Sex Type Thing” – Demo *
7. “Sin” – Demo *
8. “Creep” – Demo *
9. “Plush” – Demo *
10. “Sex Type Thing” – Swing Type Version
11. “Plush” – Acoustic Type Version
12. “Creep” – New Album Version
13. “Plush” – Acoustic from MTV Headbanger’s Ball (Take 1)

Disc Three: Live 1993
Live At Castaic Lake Natural Amphitheater (July 2, 1993)
1. “Crackerman” *
2. “Wicked Garden” *
3. “No Memory” *
4. “Sin” *
5. “Plush” *
6. “Where The River Goes” *
7. “Sex Type Thing” *
8. “Wet My Bed” *
9. “Naked Sunday” *

Live At The Reading Festival (Aug. 27, 1993)
10. “Wicked Garden”
11. “No Memory” *
12. “Sin”
13. “Lounge Fly” *
14. “Dead & Bloated”
15. “Sex Type Thing”
16. “Naked Sunday”*

Disc Four: MTV Unplugged (November 17, 1993)
1. “Crackerman”
2. “Creep” *
3. “Andy Warhol”
4. “Plush” *
5. “Big Empty” *
6. “Wicked Garden” *
7. “Sex Type Thing” *

Disc Five: (DVD) Original Album 5.1 Mix, 24/96 Stereo Audio, And Music Videos
* Previously Unreleased

Bonus “Plush” 7-inch
Included with preorder, limited edition of 1,000 units

Side 1
“Plush” (Edit)
Side 2

Listen to “Only Dying“, originally intended for The Crow soundtrack but shelved and never before released, here

Plush” live:

, , , ,

About Pat 'Riot' Whitaker

Over 40 years involved in every style, genre, and sub-genre of Rock & Metal you can imagine. Experiences and exposures a thousand miles wide and just as deep.
View all posts by Pat 'Riot' Whitaker →