HYBORIAN Shares “As Above, So Below” Official Video For Debut Album Re-Release; Live Dates

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

The Kansas City-based, riff-propelled progressive metal unit Hyborian will re-release their début album, Hyborian Vol. 1‘, through Season Of Mist on February 23rd.

Today, the band is premiering their official music video for the opening track “As Above, So Below”, which is streaming below. The record was recorded by the band at their own studio, mixed by Justin Mantooth at Westend Studios, and mastered by Nick Zampiello at New Alliance East.

It was originally released by the band (in conjunction with friends at The Company KC) in March 2017 and has a conceptual theme telling the tale of an extra-dimensional, cloaked being called The Traveller.

Hyborian elaborated on the concept’s storyline saying:

“‘Hyborian Volume I’ is a collection of stories from the dawn of humanity, events that occurred before the advent of the written word. It is the first in a series of legends from different epochs as told by a figure named The Traveller. The Traveller is a being that exists outside of humanity’s understanding of space and time.

He is the source of all life in the universe, but is not omnipresent. He wanders the cosmos, visiting and recording times of great strife or hardship, great suffering or great triumph. We are his chosen mouthpiece on Earth, so we relate those stories, whether from far in the past or far in the future.”

Hyborian‘s style of forward-advancing prog metal should instantly appeal to fans of such bands as Baroness, Bedowyn, or Mastodon. Pre-order the upcoming album release hereThe band will be playing some live dates in January, they are:

Jan. 23 Kansas City, MO @ The Riot Room (w/Red Fang) Tickets
Jan. 28 Kansas City, MO @ The Midland (w/Marilyn Manson) Tickets

Hyborian Vol. 1 Tracklist:

01. As Above, So Below
02. Maelstrom
03. Blood for Blood
04. Dead Lies Dreaming
05. Ajna
06. Dross


, , , , , , , , ,