MR. PLOW Signs w/ Ripple Music For ‘Maintain Radio Silence’ Album; To Play RIPPLE FEST

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

For the first time in over a decade, Houston’s MR. PLOW will release a new album titled ‘Maintain Radio Silence in the summer of 2018.

The album will arrive via Ripple Music as per the band’s recent signing to the heavy rock label. Plus, they will be performing at this year’s Ripple Fest, but more on that further down.

The news of the upcoming ‘Maintain Radio Silence‘ record means that 12 years after their last studio record release, MR. PLOW is poised to return with a fourth album. Members of MR. PLOW and Ripple Music‘s Todd Severin commented on these events below. Pre-order ‘Maintain Radio Silence‘ now at this location.

01. Sigil
02. Samizdat
03. Shaolin Cowboy
04. Matchstick
05. Memento
06. Johnny Gentle
07. Maintain Radio Silence
08. Hammer Smashed Face

Ripple Music owner Todd Severin commented on events, saying:

I’ve been a huge fan of Mr Plow since their early days and I personally have all their albums in my collection, so it was a no-brainer to ask the lads to join the Ripple family. The new album is better than anything I’ve ever heard from them before and will definitely open up new ears and eyes in the stoner/doom community.

MR. PLOW bassist Greg Green also commented:

I think I can speak for the entire band when I say that we’re super pumped about signing with Ripple. Ripple is the only label that we ever talked about working with once we decided that this album needs more exposure than we could ever hope to give it releasing it on our own. And we’re in good company–the entire Ripple roster rocks.”

The origins of MR. PLOW dates back to the mid-90s when the band first formed and the genre term “stoner rock” was not yet a commonly used tag. Sure, Kyuss, Monster Magnet, and Fu Manchu were active and kicking out albums, but this band was something a bit different. Perhaps a bit headier, definitely more entrenched in contemporary pop culture lyrically, the band emitted darker, almost grunge-like elements.

The band’s first album arrived in 2000, titled ‘Head On’, and made quite an impact within their region and ultimately, a larger scale as well. It would be followed by 2003’s ‘Cock Fights & Pony Racin”, then 2006’s Kurt Vonnegut characters-inspired ‘Asteroid 25399′. That would be their final studio output until now, although the band did continue to play periodic shows in the years since.

MR. PLOW is back, signed to Ripple Music, on the verge of issuing a new album, and scheduled to appear at Ripple Fest (details below) in March. Life is good.

MR. PLOW is:
Justin Waggoner: guitar/vocals
Jeremy Stone: guitar/vocals
Greg Green: bass
Cory Cousins: drums

MAR 17 – Ripple Fest @ LimeLight, San Antonio, TX

MR. PLOW| Wo Fat | Mothership | Blackwülf (w/guest Geoff O’Keefe) | War Cloud | ZED | Steak | Switchblade Jesus | Salems Bend | Great Electric Quest | Witchcryer

, , , , , , ,