OCTOPUS Signs With Rise Above Records For ‘Supernatural Alliance’ Debut

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

Detroit, Michigan is not typically known for its retro-fueled, occult / psych-rock and roll but perhaps that is on the verge of change. Rise Above Records has announced its signing of Octopus (sometimes referred to as The Octopus). The label will issue the band’s full-length début, ‘Supernatural Alliance‘, on March 30th.

The Motor City is no stranger to wild and heavy music so the arrival of Octopus is met with an open embrace. The band was formed in 2008 by guitarist J. Frezzato (ex-Electric Six) and vocalist Masha Marjieh, and possess a roster of more than qualified musicians. Bassist Matt O’Brien (ex-Big Chief), drummer Chuck Burns (Speedball, Seduce, ex-Universal Temple Of Divine Power), and keyboardist Adam Cox have rejuvenating chemistry together as Octopus.

Retro and psychedelic yet modernly heavy and supercharged, they sound neither like the past nor the present. They are the future of underground rock and roll, one that is determined to share their riff-heavy, third eye-awakening music with the masses.

Guitarist J. Frezzato recently shared the band’s mission statement, saying:

I remember being a kid, hanging out in video game arcades. Those arcades, they were all dark, with blue and red neon lights. Smoke. Drug deals. You went in there as a kid, and you were like, ‘Fuck yeah! I’m on Mars now!’ There were always black-light dragon posters on the walls. That was the image that kept coming to me when we were working on this record. Rock’s been turned into a beer commercial, a sporting event and museums and it’s been broken into a million orthodox sub-genres. I’m not into that. Rock is an underground thing. That’s where it belongs.

Today, we share the artwork and tracklist from Octopus‘ “Supernatural Alliance“, which will arrive from Rise Above Records on March 30th. Until then, check out an earlier live performance video from the band, “At Her Feet“, recorded back in 2009 at The Magic Stick in Detroit and streaming below.

Supernatural Alliance tracklist:

01. The Center
02. Supernatural Alliance
03. Slave And Master
04. Strike
05. Child Of Destiny
06. The Unknown
07. Sword And The Stone
08. All The Love
09. Black Dynamite
10. Dragonhead

, , , , , ,