AEONIAN SORROW Streams ‘Into The Eternity A Moment We Are’ Debut Release

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

Taking a page straight from the stylistic playbook of early My Dying Bride, Katatonia, Tiamat, and such similar doom bands comes this magnificent opus.

The dual national membership of Aeonian Sorrow, who hails from Greece and Finland, has crafted a stunning milestone with their debut album, ‘Into The Eternity A Moment We Are‘. The album was released digitally on March 28th – physical formats will arrive on April 11th – but Riff Relevant is sharing a full-album stream of it with you today.

Reminiscent of the classic, early Peaceville-era death/doom music movement, the quintet within Aeonian Sorrow serves up a magnificent musical monument here. Dual gender vocals from the pairing of singer/songwriter Gogo Melone and her fellow vocalist Alejandro Lotero provide quite an enthralling contrast. With the former’s angelic, almost operatic, voice creating a striking dichotomy with the latter’s thunderous bellow.

The slowly morphing, fantastically solid, funeral doom music of the band is equally somber, gloomy, and such, but at times uplifting. That is despite Melone’s statements affirming the album’s offer of assured desperation and hopelessness. She comments:

This isn’t another doom metal record and definitely we cannot be categorized as a female fronted band; at least I’m not going to accept the title. This album is about the eternal suffering of a man or people who live in a world where everything and everyone they knew have gone, either by death or general parting, but somehow cannot be forgotten. Some individuals are probably going to find themselves in and others might end up having very typical and general feelings like ‘this story is already known.’ It is known but messy and chaotic enough with its lyrics to not give an end because that’s the way someone feels when he has buried himself into sorrow and won’t let it go.

I don’t remember well the days I was writing the music and the words for this album but I can definitely say that my entire mood was completely devastating and for very strong reasons,” She continued. “It is part of the human nature to look for hope into the sky through spiritualism and I happen to be one of them when I have bad days. But I must warn the listeners. This isn’t an album of hope but totally the opposite. Like Aeonian Sorrow’s music, in general, is all about.

Submerge yourself and soul into the sadness of the Aeonian Sorrow introduction ‘Into the Eternity A Moment We Are‘ via the Soundcloud embed below. Pre-orders for the album are also now currently available through Aeonian Sorrow‘s website.


Gogo Melone – Vocals, Keyboards, Songwriting
Saku Moilanen – Drums
Alejandro Lotero – Vocals
Taneli Jämsä – Guitars
Pyry Hanski – Bass


, , , ,