Exclusive Premiere: THE RED COIL “Opium Smokers Room” Single

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

RIFF RELEVANT presents our exclusive premiere of the new single “Opium Smokers Room” from Italy’s THE RED COIL.

The track hails from the band’s highly anticipated sophomore album release for Argonauta Records, ‘Himalayan Demons‘. It will arrive on CD and Digital Download from the label on June 22nd.

The song is a slowly grooving onslaught of thick riffery, pulverizing drums, and gravelly, aggressive vocals. It combines an undeniably potent blend of southern doom, sludge, and post-hardcore elements into one monstrously dense sonic juggernaut set on destruction.

The name THE RED COIL is related to the concept of Kundalini, the energy that resides in the body. It is traditionally represented as a sleeping serpent coiled at the base of the spine and today, the serpent strikes with steely determination.

Marco Marinoni (vocals)
Luca Colombo (guitar)
Daniele Parini (guitar)
Gelindo (bass)
Bull (drum)

Get snake bit by the venomous crunch of “Opium Smokers Room” in the stream presented here. Pre-order for ‘Himalayan Demons‘ from THE RED COIL is active now at THIS LOCATION.


01. Withdrawal Syndrome Wall
02. Godforsaken
03. Oriental Lodge
04. Opium Smokers Room
05. The Shroud
06. Moksha
07. The Eyes Of Kathmandu
08. When The Levee Breaks (Led Zeppelin cover)

, , , , , , , ,