Exclusive Premiere: SPACETRUCKER “Meat Wagon” Single From Upcoming ‘Smooth Orbit’ Album

Article by: Leanne Ridgeway

St. Louis, Missouri band SPACETRUCKER are sharing details about their upcoming new album Smooth Orbit’, with an added Riff Relevant exclusive première.

Cosmic travelers are rarely down to Earth, but SPACETRUCKER embodies the humble spirit of their native Missouri.

“The truth is we are from the Midwest, and all rose from the ashes of bands who struggled without much success, putting us in a place to create a no-fuck-around sound and boiling our mutual musical tastes down to the basic elements that really do it for us.”

While those influences of classic rock, grunge, and stoner fuzz were left to simmer on the first record ‘Launch Sequence’ [review], they have since been distilled into a heady cocktail on the new album ‘Smooth Orbit’, with extra garnishments added in the process.

As ‘Smooth Orbit’ rumbles into view, the listener catches the first glimpse of a revamped SPACETRUCKER. The fuzz-rock vibes are still very much blended with riff-driven grunge, while vocalist / guitarist Mike Owen has a smooth, veteran voice. Psychedelia creeps in more and more, while thunder supercharges the bass and drums. There’s plenty for genre pedants to unpick, but ultimately it’s best to sit back and enjoy the trip.

Even in their short tenure, SPACETRUCKER has locally opened for national treasures like Jucifer, The Obsessed, Fatso Jetson, and Karma to Burn. With ‘Smooth Orbit’ it sounds like their van is souped-up and ready to take them on journeys to lands even further away. Hop in for the ride.

Smooth Orbit” will arrive on August 17th via the Spacetrucker Bandcamp page HERE. In the meantime, enjoy a première of the track “Meat Wagon” off the album in the SoundCloud stream below!


Mike Owen – Guitar, Vocals
Del Toro – Drums
Rob Wagoner – Bass, Vocals

Facebook | Bandcamp


‘Smooth Orbit’ Tracklist:

01. Sample of a Sample
02. Not As Hung
03. Breach
04. Meat Wagon
05. Fuck Up
06. Hotbox Airlock
07. Cat March
08. Vanishing Point
09. Lost in the Sauce

, , , , , , ,