BATTALIONS To Issue ‘Forever Marching Backwards’ Album In Nov.; Debut Title Track Video

(By Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker, Senior Writer/Journalist,

The UK’s underground aggro sludge stalwarts BATTALIONS announce the release of their third studio album, ‘Forever Marching Backwards‘, is forthcoming.

The album will arrive through APF Records on November 30th, and we are sharing the band’s newly released official video for its title track today. The song “Forever Marching Backwards” finds this foursome – Philkinson (Vocals), Soggy Pete (Guitar), Dennett (Bass), and Walker (Drums) – partaking in playing deliberately dangerous music.

The song’s dirt-encrusted southern grit is generated with thick riffs, gargantuan grooves, and vocals spewed with harsh disdain. Vocalist Phil Wilkinson shared the following about the track and album, saying:

“If you’ve followed Battalions for the last few albums you can expect tighter production, bigger riffs, more of a focus on structure and song writing along with the usual self-depreciating humor peppered throughout. The album itself is based around lead single ‘Forever Marching Backwards’ from which the album takes its name, essentially an allegory about how society seems to be hardwired to follow blindly without the majority questioning motives. The blind leading the blind.”

Track list:

1: Forever Marching Backwards
2: Cities Of Ruin
3: Goat Feeder
4: Vaseline (G)Love
5: Tyskie Vampire
6: Infinite Void
7: Brick Hole
8: Devil’s Footsteps

Forever Marching Backwards‘ was recorded and mixed by Chris Fielding at Skyhammer Studios in the UK. It is the follow-up to BATTALIONS‘ critically acclaimed previous efforts, 2017’s ‘Moonburn’ and 2016’s ‘Nothing To Lose’, and unlike those recordings, finds the band slimmed down to a quartet – they were previously a five piece.

Pre-order Forever Marching Backwards‘  now at this LINK.

, , , , , , , , ,