PRIMAL FEAR ‘Apocalypse’ Album Review & Streams; EU Tour w/ RIOT & EXISTANCE Nears

Article By: Kira Schlechter ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

After 21 years, PRIMAL FEAR has pretty much gotten it down. With their 12th album, the Frontiers Music Srl. issued ‘Apocalypse,’ they solidify their place in the pantheon of German power metal.

Stalwart members – singer Ralf Scheepers and bassist/singer Mat Sinner – along with guitarists Tom Naumann and Alex Beyrodt, guitarist/keyboardist Magnus Karlsson, and drummer Francesco Jovino, deliver 11 solid, basically unsurprising tracks with a couple of standout moments amidst them.

New Rise” is a tribute to the process – album and tour, getting on the road again – fast, frantic, and exciting, with a message of band unity and defiance. The terrific “King Of Madness” bears a pretty pointed message to despots and dictators everywhere, and their followers (“a battlefield filled with fools”).

Blood, Sweat And Fear” urges inner strength in the face of life’s setbacks. PRIMAL FEAR’s sentiments may be simple and straightforward, but they bear repeating.

Supernova,” with its gorgeous guitar melodies and wrenching chorus, is a tale of environmental destruction. “Hail To The Fear” has a meaty groove and a pessimistic message of futility in the face of evil.

Elsewhere, the call and response of “Hounds Of Justice” is very Judas Priest-like and contains what is probably my favorite passage in the album, a great commentary on human nature: “The optimist is talking about a chance to survive/The realist is praying, waiting for a way to die/The pessimist’s destructive.”

And the epic “Eye Of The Storm” is a sweeping message of destruction and repentance, complete with a full orchestral/acoustic breakdown midway – perfect for cell phone flashlight swaying.

Everything is crisp and clean, exactly what you’d expect here, breaking no new ground, but bearing the metal standard at full staff. ‘Apocalypse‘ isn’t the end, but it’s a perfect continuation of what PRIMAL FEAR is all about.

We have a couple of related items to include here, the first is the just-announced news that PRIMAL FEAR has signed a new, multi-album deal with Nuclear Blast. The German band and the German label have had great working relations over the years since Nuclear Blast issued the band’s self-titled début in 1998.

To celebrate the rejuvenated partnership, PRIMAL FEAR will release a 7‘‘ vinyl single – limited to just 1000 copies – on September 28th. It will feature a new, as yet unreleased, track entitled “Crucify Me“, plus a live version of the classic, “Nuclear Fire“.

This release will coincide with the launch of PRIMAL FEAR‘s “Apocalypse Over EuropeTour 2018, which sees them supported by the legendary RIOT and special guests EXISTANCE. Find the itinerary for this trek below the video.

Apocalypse Over EuropeTour 2018:

Sep. 28 – D – Mannheim – MS Connexion Complex
Sep. 29 – D – Memmingen – Kaminwerk
Sep. 30 – HU – Budapest – Barba Negra
Oct. 02 – AT – Salzburg – Rockhouse
Oct. 03 – IT – Milano – Legend Club
Oct. 04 – F – Grenoble – L’Llyade
Oct. 05 – ES – Barcelona – Salamandra 1
Oct. 06 – ES – Madrid – Mon
Oct. 07 – ES – Bilbao – Santana 27
Oct. 10 – F – Paris – Le Petit Bain
Oct. 11 – UK – London – The Dome
Oct. 12 – BE – Vosselaar – Biebob
Oct. 14 – D – Bochum – Zeche
Oct. 16 – D – Hamburg – Markthalle
Oct. 17 – D – Rostock – Alte Zuckerfabrik
Oct. 18 – D – Berlin – Lido
Oct. 19 – CZ – Zlin – Masters Of Rock Cafe
Oct. 20 – D – Cham – La Cham
Oct. 23 – AT – Graz – Explosiv
Oct. 24 – CZ – Prague – Nova Chmelnice
Oct. 25 – CH – Pratteln – Z 7
Oct. 26 – D – Stuttgart – LKA Longhorn
Oct. 27 – D – Geiselwind – Live Music Hall

, , , , , , , , ,