DAVID ELLEFSON Debuts “Hammer Comes Down” Single Feat. Chris Poland & Mark Tremonti

Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

Hammer Comes Down” is the newly issued single and lyric video from Megadeth bassist David Ellefson

The track is taken from ‘Sleeping Giants‘, the impending companion album for Ellefson‘s new biography, ‘More Life With Deth‘, which is expected to land in stores on July 16th from Jawbone Press.

The upcoming book offering is the follow-up to Ellefson’s highly successful 2013 literary work, ‘My Life With Deth: Discovering Meaning In A Life Of Rock & Roll’. While anticipation for the book’s arrival continues to grow, there is equal excitement for the guest-packed two-disc ‘Sleeping Giants‘ which is set to arrive from Combat Records shortly after the book (July 19th).

The classic record label was recently revived through Ellefson’s EMP Label Group, David’s musical venture with Thom Hazaert, who co-authored ‘My Life With ‘Deth‘ and provides vocals on several tracks on the accompanying album.



Sleeping Giants‘ will be a retrospective featuring several new tracks, plus a collection of demos and unreleased material from other Ellefson projects such as F5, as remastered by Richard Easterling.

With additional production from ICON guitarist John Aquilino at the Platinum Underground in Phoenix, ‘Sleeping Giants‘ will feature a multitude of guests, including legendary MC Darryl “DMC” McDaniels, Mark TremontiEric AK Knutson (Flotsam & Jetsam), Ken Mary (Alice Cooper, Flotsam & Jetsam), Steve Conley (Flotsam & Jetsam, F5), Ethan BroshRon “Bumblefoot” Thal (Sons Of Apollo, ex-Guns & Roses), Dave Sharpe and Opus Lawrence of Dead By Wednesday, Illias Papadakis (Memorain), Dave McClain (Sacred Reich, ex-Machinehead), Andy Martongelli (Altitudes And Attitudes) and more.

Also included is a remix by “Game Of Thrones” star Kristian Nairn (Hodor) and unreleased songwriting demos, featuring vocals by John Bush (Armored Saint, ex-Anthrax) and David Glen Eisley (House Of Lords, Giuffria).

It will be partnered with a second bonus disc that will feature a compilation of EMP and Combat Records artists, including Last Crack, Hatchet, Wrath, Marc Rizzo, Doyle, Mark Slaughter, Ron Keel Band, and more. They will feature artwork and photos by Melody Myers who has captured stunning images of such artists as Marc Rizzo, Escape The Fate, and many others in the past.

As for the new single, “Hammer Comes Down“, it features a reunion that fans have clamored for over the years, that of David Ellefson with former Megadeth guitarist Chris Poland. The track is the pair’s first commercially released collaboration since Megadeth’s iconic ‘Peace Sells… But Who’s Buying?‘ album. The track finds Thom Hazaert and Eric AK handling vocal duties, while guitarists Mark Tremonti (Alter Bridge, Creed, Tremonti) and Joey Radziwill (Sacred Reich) appear alongside Poland. Drummer Dave McClain (Sacred Reich, ex-Machine Head) also guests on the song.

Ellefson commented on working with Poland again:

It was great to reconnect with Chris, musically and personally, who is still, and always has been, one of the most innovative players in metal.

When we were working on putting together the record, Thom had brought up the idea to Chris of him playing on a track, and somehow it all worked out. Add some killer solos from Chris Poland, on to a song that already features Mark Tremonti, Dave McClain, and Eric AK from Flotsam & Jetsam, and you can only imagine how incredible it came out. It’s truly an epic collaboration, and we couldn’t be more excited about it.

Check out “Hammer Comes Down” below and find ‘Sleeping Giants‘ available from Combat Records on July 19th. David Ellefson‘s new book, ‘More Life With ‘Deth‘, will arrive via Jawbone Press three days prior, on July 16th.

In related news, Ellefson recently announced the addition of more dates to his 2019 “BASStoryTour, including stops in Baltimore, MD, Indianapolis, IN, and Minneapolis, MN. The tour features a book question-and-answer session with David Ellefson and Thom Hazaert, plus an intimate full-band set that includes Hazaert, plus Dead By Wednesday’s Opus Lawrence (drums), and Dave Sharpe (guitar), and Hatchet guitarist Clayton Cagle. Support in various cities will be provided by EMP Label Group and Combat artists, including LAST CRACKWRATHGREEN DEATHARCHER NATIONCRAWL, and VOODOO TERROR TRIBE. Find the tour’s itinerary further below.


Sleeping Giants Tracklist:

Disc 1:

Ellefson/Hazaert 2019

01. Vultures
02. Sleeping Giants (ft. DMC)
03. Hammer Comes Down (ft. Mark Tremonti, Chris Poland, and Eric AK)
04. Vultures (Kristian Nairn Remix)
05. If You Were God (ft. John Bush) *

F5 Demos

06. Deadman Rise
07. I Fall
08. Bleeding
09. Why Can’t We Die
10. Dying On The Vine
11. Faded
12. Undeniable
13. Feel Your Pain
14. Out In The Rain (ft. David Glen Eisley) *
15. Voices (ft. David Glen Eisley) *

* Previously unreleased demo

Disc 2: EMP/Combat Artist Sampler

01. Last Crack – “Golden Age”
02. Co-Op (ft. Joe Perry) – “Howl”
03. Green Death (ft. David Ellefson) – “Pure Torture”
04. Semblant – “Scarlet Heritage – Legacy Of Blood Pt. III”
05. Hatchet – “Back Into Dust”
06. Marc Rizzo – “Downside Up”
07. Mark Slaughter – “Conspiracy”
08. Doyle (ft. Alissa White-Gluz) – “Kiss Me As We Die”
09. Dead By Wednesday – “You & Die”
10. Evil United (ft. Jason Mcmaster) – “Operation Overlord”
11. Sunflower Dead – “Turn Away” (Radio Edit)
12. Arise In Chaos – “The Divine”
13. Doll Skin – “Daughter”
14. Psykotribe (ft. David Ellefson) – “End It”
15. Archer Nation – “Severed”
16. Ron Keel Band – “Fight Like A Band”
17. Wrath – “Draw Blood”



, , , , , , ,