Exclusive: KIND Premieres “Faster Number Two” Off ‘Mental Nudge’ [Album Review]

Photo By: Nicole Tammaro
Article by: Leanne Ridgeway

Extremely pleased to present a debut song stream today from Boston, Massachusetts-based stoner rock crew KIND. Their sophomore album ‘Mental Nudge‘ is due out on September 11th via Ripple Music. For today’s premiere, we have the album’s second track, “Faster Number Two,” off this pure beauty of an album from these rather exquisite purveyors of heavy.

Their blend of aural rapture started in 2013, and the boundless stoner psych-rock foursome KIND is ready to deliver the follow-up to their acclaimed 2015 Ripple Music debut ‘Rocket Science,’ with their second full-length, ‘Mental Nudge.’

Rocket Science‘ introduced us to their heavy psych rock tempest, but ‘Mental Nudge‘ has brought the sun into their storm. There’s a perpetual building of atmospheric mood that surrounds the songs of KIND. A sense of dangerous tranquility. Like a vista of low altitude clouds churning along so steadily in the shimmering horizon that it steals your focus to nearly obscure the powerful complexity of the thunderhead approaching from up on high. All of a sudden you’re neurally drenched by a sonic downpour breaking through overhead.

The volatile drum work of Matt Couto (ex-Elder) combined with the expansive finesse of Tom Corino (ex-Rozamov) on bass creates that panorama of stability for Darryl Shepard‘s (Test Meat, ex-Black Pyramid) savvy guitar fretwork and the smoothly haunting chameleon tones of vocalist Craig Riggs (Roadsaw, Sasquatch) to fuse together into that build-up, which subsequently crushes your perceptions.

Mental Nudge‘ overall is massive bouts of bluesy stoner rock, heavily illuminated with intricate psychedelia, well-composed hazy melodies, blistering guitar work, and some downright startling vocal harmonies. Not sure I have a favored song to lean towards yet, as there are some immensely swift jammers on this album – such as “In Your Head” or the song premiering today “Faster Number Two.” Mingled in with the ominously celestial quality of certain songs like the first single “Bad Friend” and title track “Mental Nudge” (which has some delicious guitar work), it’s a challenge to narrow down such choices.

Besides, who am I kidding? Once I get my hands on this record around its release on September 11th, it’ll be spinning on my turntable for a long repeated while. Thus far, it’s a completely addicting listening experience.


01. Broken Tweaker
02. Faster Number Two
03. Bad Friend
04. Helms
05. It’s Your Head
06. Mental Nudge
07. Trigger Happy

KIND has crafted seven new songs that cover the aural spectrum and the album captures the effortless interplay between the instruments and Riggs‘ powerful vocals. The first single arrived with the initial album news, and we have the second one streaming for you below, but first some song insight from the band:

“‘Faster Number Two’ is built on a proto-Stooges riff and is one of the more upbeat songs on Mental Nudge. The title has nothing to do with the lyrics, it’s the follow-up to ‘Faster Number One’ on the debut album, Rocket Science.” So states guitarist Darryl Shepard.

Vocalist Craig Riggs says: “‘Faster Number Two’ is a song about the greatest party in the world. After an earthquake, a man walks up to a crack in the ground and looks in to see another world, and he wants in. When he gets there it slowly dawns on him that he is in Hell. But maybe that’s ok because it’s not as bad as he has been told. I guess this is the life for me. Got everything here I need.”

After entering the studio to demo new material a couple of times in between tours over the past few years, KIND booked time at the venerable Mad Oak Studios in January 2020, with Alec Rodriguez (Lesser Glow, Forn, Chelsea Wolfe live sound) behind the boards once again to track ‘Mental Nudge,’ resulting in a clear yet heavy recording of the new material. The record was expertly mastered by Carl Saff at Saff Mastering.

With the album title-inspired artwork designed by renowned artist Alexander von Wieding (Monster Magnet, Brant Bjork, Karma to Burn), it ties up the themes of the songs in a striking visual representation. ‘Mental Nudge‘ will be released on September 11th, and after you have a listen to the new track, you can hit up Ripple Music to order one of the following formats through these online locations: North America | Europe

– Rare Test Pressing LP
– Worldwide Edition Classic Black Vinyl LP
– Limited Edition Colored Vinyl LP (150 copies, yellow/mint green half & half vinyl)
– CD and digital



Matthew Couto – Drums
Tom Corino – Bass
Craig Riggs – Vocals
Darryl Shepard – Guitar

Facebook | Instagram | WebsiteBandcamp | Apple Music | Spotify


, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,