STONE MACHINE ELECTRIC ‘The Inexplicable Vibrations of Frequencies Within the Cosmic Netherworld’ Due Out Friday

Article: Leanne Ridgeway

STONE MACHINE ELECTRIC is a Fort Worth, Texas-based stoner rock duo best known for crafting a dark and spacious brand of psychedelic instrumental jamming that they have dubbed Doom Jazz, reminiscent of acts like Wo Fat and Earthless. The band goes back at least a decade, with a slew of releases available to explore on their Bandcamp page.

Their brand new album will drop this Friday, December 4th, 2020, via Desert Records. First, right off the bat, check out this album title: ‘The Inexplicable Vibrations of Frequencies Within the Cosmic Netherworld‘. Safe to say it’s got the potential to be a lushly trippy, psych-rock set of jams? I’d wager high on that bet and, with three songs in total to create an album of nearly 45 minutes, I’d win, too.

The first track is called “Journey On The Nile“, a nearly 21-minute psychedelic opus that the band describes as truly a “journey”. The song was recorded in May 2019 by Josh Block at Niles City Sound in Fort Worth, Texas. The song is streaming below via Bandcamp, so scroll your way to listen to this expansively spacey, weighted blanket of kushy mellow. STONE MACHINE ELECTRIC drummer Mark Kitchens says,

We pulled what we could from the nether in this long form jam and breathed life into the song from the cosmos.

The second track “At Crystal Lake” is also lengthy, clocking in at 15:35 minutes, with the recording done in July 2018 by Kent Stump (of Wo Fat). Closing out the three-song album is “Free Thought,” at just a touch over 9-minutes (it seems almost short in comparison to the others), the recording was captured live at Freetown Boom Boom Room in Lafayette, Lousiana on February 22 of this year (2020).

The Inexplicable Vibrations of Frequencies Within the Cosmic Netherworld‘ album was mastered by Kent Stump at his Crystal Clear Sound studios in Fort Worth. The cover artwork and layout were done by Joshua Mathus, with photography by Lynda Kitchens.

Artwork by Joshua Mathus


01. Journey On The Nile
02. At Crystal Lake…
03. Free Thought

The Inexplicable Vibrations of Frequencies Within the Cosmic Netherworld‘ is set for release on December 4, 2020. It will be available in limited edition CD and Digital Downloads through Desert Records, with streaming via all major outlets.

You could wait until Bandcamp Friday when the site waives its fees and all sale monies go directly to the artists, but CDs are have been going fast in pre-order. Order the new album through Bandcamp.


Mark Kitchens – Drums
William (Dub) Irvin – Guitar

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Website | SpotifyYouTube | Bandcamp



, , , , , , , , , , , , ,