Exclusive Premiere: ELLIOTT’S KEEP Official Video for ‘Tempest’

(By Leanne Ridgeway, Owner/Chief Editor, RiffRelevant.com)

Last November, our Staff Writer Santiago Guitierrez reviewed the latest release from Dallas, Texas’ Elliott’s Keep.  Today, we have the privilege of hosting an exclusive première of their new video for the song ‘Tempest‘.    

Tempest” is the second track on Elliott Keep’s latest release, Lacrimae Mundi (Latin for “tears of the world”).  The video was filmed by the band at their studio studio in Garland, Texas, and just completed in February 2018.  Their fourth full-length was recorded with J.T. Longoria (Mercyful Fate, Solitude Aeturnus, Absu, Candlemass) at Nomad Studios in Carrollton, Texas.

Musically, “Tempest” is progressive doom metal, evidencing the band’s trademark blending of heavy musical styles.  The song is a story of fate and doom, told from the point of view of a man among a wooden ship’s crew circa 1800.  Beginning in medias res, overtaken by a storm of epic proportions — and knowing full well that there is nothing he can do to save himself or his shipmates — he chooses to face the “Leviathan” head-on.  It is a story of bravery, defiance and acceptance in the face of certain death.

Vocalist and bassist, Ken Greene comments that, “‘Tempest’ demonstrates Elliott’s Keep at its best.  It continues our tradition of telling stories.  We find these tales in history, mythology, fiction, speculation, and even dreams.  Then we spin them into the matrix of music that we love.  ‘Tempest’ tells a story close to my own heart.”

The song is always a fun one to play,” adds guitarist, Jonathan Bates.With the video, we again went with performance footage to put faces with the song, adding personality and some emotional element.”

The video was produced and edited by drummer, Joel Bates, who also handles artwork duties for the band.  Joel adds that, “from a musical standpoint I think of this song as a follow-up to ‘Iter.’”   (Referring to ‘Iter – Crusader Pt. II’ from the band’s 2008 debut album ‘In Media Res’.)

Lacrimae Mundi Track List:

1. Carpe Noctem
2. Tempest
3. The Doom of Men
4. Banished to Shadow
5. Ninestane Rig
6. Moments of Respite
7. Reflection
8. Remembrance

Find all Elliott’s Keep albums on CD or digital download at their Bandcamp page or other online outlets.  You can listen to a full stream of Lacrimae Mundi and read Santiago’s review here.

Find more Elliott’s Keep on:  Facebook / Bandcamp / YouTube

, , , , , , , , , , ,

About Leanne Ridgeway

Sharing the riff love. Owner/Editor of www.RiffRelevant.com. Also owns & operates www.MettleMediaPR.com.
View all posts by Leanne Ridgeway →