FORMING THE VOID Announces New ‘Rift’ Album; Shares Official Video

(Photo Courtesy Of Teddie Taylor)
Article By: Pat ‘Riot’ Whitaker ‡ Edited By: Leanne Ridgeway

Louisiana’s progressive stoner metallers FORMING THE VOID have revealed plans to release their new album ‘Rift‘ on August 17th, via Kozmik Artifactz.

Along with today’s revelation, which includes the ‘Rift‘ artwork and tracklist, also comes a potent new visualizer from the record. The colorful, hazily encased official video for “On We Sail” – one that contains occult-looking partakers of Miller Lite and smoking stuffs – delivers a song seemingly derived from Sabbathian doom.

FORMING THE VOID guitarist/vocalist James Marshall recently told Decibel Magazine:

“‘On We Sail’ is lyrically about being on a ship and being sucked into a portal that blasts out into space, and in that moment, accepting the path into the unknown and that it might be the end of the road for you. It’s meant to be a victorious thing, although it sounds really negative. We were brainstorming video ideas and wanted to kind of make fun of ourselves and our previous video for ‘Three Eyed Gazelle’ so, we got a bunch of our friends together out in the woods of rural south Louisiana and made this. We wanted to go with something beyond a regular performance video and do something light-hearted. A good friend of ours David Rabalais does videos for a living and was down to help us capture the idea. We also enlisted some help from our buddy Jai Benoit of Golgothan to play the monster and assist with the vision. This is just another night with Forming The Void and friends. It was fun to spoof the first video and we shot at the same location with some of the same people plus more of our friends. All that together just made it a comedy.

Rift‘ will arrive from Kozmik Artifactz on August 17th!

Forming The Void will also be appearing at Descendants Of Crom in Pittsburgh, this September, which Riff Relevant is proudly sponsoring again this year. Check for more details [HERE].

James Marshall – Guitar/Vocals
Shadi Omar Al-Khansa – Guitar
Luke Baker – Bass
Thomas Colley – Drums

Rift tracklist:
01. Extinction Event
02. On We Sail
03. Arcane Mystic
04. Transient
05. Arrival
06. Ark Debris
07. Shrine


, , , , , , , , ,