-(16)- Shares New “Candy In Spanish” Single Off ‘Dream Squasher’ Album

Photo: Chad Kelco
Article By: Leanne Ridgeway

Southern California’s almighty sludge conquering -(16)- returns with their eighth full-length album, ‘Dream Squasher‘. Set for release June 5th via Relapse Records, ‘Dream Squasher‘ is a testament to the power of loss, its every moment casting the SoCal outfit into deeper, darker depths.

The tragic, violent intent in this expression won’t be lost on listeners either; at any given moment of ‘Dream Squasher,’ -(16)-‘s bouldering guitars crash into each other, set atop equally pulverizing bass and drums. Thunderous riffs express equal parts melancholy and fury.

For the first time in the band’s 29-year career, ‘Dream Squasher‘ sees Bobby Ferry stepping forward and taking the helm on lead vocals, rounding out the band with both monumental moments of singing and pained screams of pure vitriol. From standout tracks like “Candy In Spanish,” to bruisers like “Agora (Killed By A Mountain Lion)” and the mountainous melodies of “Sadlands,” ‘Dream Squasher‘ proves to be -(16)-‘s return to form – where riffs dominate and anger reigns supreme.

Guitarist and lead vocalist Bobby Ferry comments:

“A conscious effort was made to inject positivity into the lyrical themes. The best we could come up with is loving your dog so much, you’d end up killing yourself if the dog dies.”


Cover Illustration Artwork By: Marald Art

‘Dream Squasher’ Tracklist:

01. Candy In Spanish
02. Me & The Dog Die Together
03. Sadlands
04. Harvester of Fabrication
05. Acid Tongue
06. Agora (Killed By A Mountain Lion)
07. Ride The Waves
08. Summer of ’96
09. Screw Unto Others
10. Kissing The Choir Boy

In advance of the record’s release, -(16)- offers up a first listen to the album with track one, “Candy In Spanish,” now streaming via Bandcamp or YouTube below.

Dream Squasher‘ will be released June 5th on CD, vinyl LP, and digital formats via most streaming outlets. Physical packages are available for preorder through Relapse Records. Digital downloads and streaming services are available [HERE].




Bobby Ferry – Guitar, Vocals
Cris Jerue – Vocals
Alex Shuster -Lead Guitar
Barney Firks – Bass
Dion Thurman – Drums

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Bandcamp | Spotify | Merch


, , , , , , , ,