Exclusive: THE SLEEPING SEA KING Premieres “Devil’s Soldiers” Off Metal Assault Mixtape Vol. 3

Article by: Leanne Ridgeway

Around mid-2019, Metal Assault Records started putting out a cassette compilation “Mixtape” series, with a new volume coming out every six months or so, thus far. They’re now nearing the release of the third installment – ‘Metal Assault Mixtape: Vol. 3‘ – featuring new music from 12 bands, all of which are based out of the greater Los Angeles, California region.

Twelve bands is an apt representation of the deep involvement the label has had with their local Los Angeles underground scene. With a roundup of genres including symphonic metal, power metal, hard rock, stoner rock, traditional heavy metal, groove metal, grindcore, hardcore punk, rock ‘n roll, prog, death metal, and black metal… ‘Mixtape: Vol. 3′ has it all. Metal Assault Records says with confidence that listeners will not be disappointed.

Our premiere featured today is from THE SLEEPING SEA KING, whose song “Devil’s Soldiers” is track two of the compilation. The band hails from Riverside, California, and is a hard rock/metal foursome born in 2008. With their first album ‘*May Cause Death‘ (January 2011) and a second full-length ‘The Creature Wears the Crown‘ in October 2018, the band seems primed to put out some new tunes. They let us know about some upcoming music in the works, as well as their involvement with ‘Mixtape Vol. 3‘:

“We often say we’re ‘the best unsigned heavy band in the land’. We are currently in the studio with legendary producer Cameron Webb (Motorhead, Megadeth, NOFX, Pennywise, Alkaline Trio, The Last Gang, and more) working on putting the finishing touches to the music we will release in 2020, which of course includes a track exclusive to Metal Assault Mixtape: Vol. 3! Our fans are considered as family to us and we are genuinely excited for not only what we’ve done but what we’re about to do.



01. ANTHEA – Discovery
02. THE SLEEPING SEA KING – Devil’s Soldiers
03. BLACKWATER REDS – Chasing Eight
04. MARISHI TEN – Never Look Back
05. AGAINST THE GRAVE – Killing Us Slowly
06. FLESH AND MACHINE – Hectic Fevers / Seeding Meat
07. SOLAR HAZE – Burn The Light
08. RISING ELIJAH – Degenerated
09. SUBSURFACE TENSION – Devil Pin-Up Girl
10. DEIFIED – Harvester
11. WARWIND – Night Fall
12. FLESHBONG – The Bloody Peanuts Within Thy Stool

A few words about THE SLEEPING SEA KING from Andrew Bansal, owner of Metal Assault Records, :

“I have worked with TSSK on Metal-Assault-curated events in the recent past, and prior to that, I have witnessed some of their pristine, high-impact live performances. Think Mastodon, Kyuss, The Sword, Clutch, Queens Of The Stone Age, and even a bit of Crowbar, Refused and Megadeth, and you might be closer to defining the TSSK sound. This is exactly the kind of band I am attempting to feature and promote on the Metal Assault Mixtape projects, and I am psyched to have a brand new, exclusive track from TSSK for Metal Assault Mixtape: Vol. 3. “

Have a listen to our premiere of track two of the compilation, The Sleeping Sea King‘s “Devil’s Soldiers“, via Bandcamp below:



You can also check further below to get a few more listening teases from other tracks currently available from the compilation. Set for full release on August 14th, 2020, the Metal Assault: Mixtape Vol. 3 album will be available as a digital download or stream via Bandcamp, as well as a physical Cassette. There’s also a bundle T-Shirt + Cassette option. Pre-order either variation of the album [HERE].


Joey Kohorst – Lead Vocals, Guitars
Andre Morales – Drums
Kroft Salmi – Lead Guitar
Bruce Zebal – Bass, Backing Vocals

Facebook | Instagram Spotify | YouTube | Bandcamp | Merch


, , , , , , , , ,