MR. BUNGLE ‘The Raging Wrath Of The Easter Bunny Demo’ Due Oct. 2020

Photo By: Eric Larsen
Article by: Leanne Ridgeway

MR. BUNGLE, who one year ago announced their first live outings in two decades, has announced the release ofThe Raging Wrath Of The Easter Bunny Demo‘ on Oct. 30 via Ipecac Recordings. As was the case with the live performances, original MR. BUNGLE members Trevor Dunn, Mike Patton, and Trey Spruance are joined by Scott Ian (Anthrax, S.O.D.) and Dave Lombardo (Dead Cross, Slayer, Suicidal Tendencies).

The alternative metal experimentalists MR. BUNGLE was formed in an impoverished lumber and fishing town by a trio of curious, volatile teenagers. Spruance, Patton, and Dunn beget the avant-garde amorphous “band” in 1985, up in Humboldt County, California, sifting through a variety of members until around 1989, when they settled on a lineup that managed to get signed to Warner Bros. Records. No one really knows how this happened and it remains a complete mystery that even the algorithms of the internet can’t decode.

Up until 2000, they released three albums (‘Mr. Bungle‘ in 1991, ‘Disco Volante‘ in 1995, and ‘California‘ in 1999), toured a good portion of the Western hemisphere, and avoided any sort of critical acclaim. Some argue that the band subsequently broke up, but there is also no proof of this. What is true is that they took 20 years off from performing under said moniker while they pursued various other music that, in contrast, paid the rent.

The new 11-song release features tracks written by the Eureka, California-born band for their 1986 cassette-only demo, as well as a reimagined cover of the S.O.D. classic “Hypocrites / Habla Español O Muere” (a.k.a. “Speak English or Die“) and Corrosion of Conformity’s “Loss For Words.” Rhea Perlman narrates the track “Anarchy Up Your Anus.” The album was produced by MR. BUNGLE, recorded by Husky Höskulds at Studio 606, and mixed by Jay Ruston. A video for the first single “Raping Your Mind” (video created by Eric Livingston) is available streaming below or on audio via Bandcamp stream.

Recording THIS music with THESE guys was an enormous head-rush of virtuosity and surprises every day in the studio,” explains Patton. “Trey’s video game-esque solos, Scott’s bionic right hand and cyborg-like precision, Dave’s caveman-meets-Bobby Brady-like drum fills, Trevor’s solid foundation and laser-focus to detail. There is nothing sweeter than getting your ass kicked by true comrades…where everyone has a singular drive and mission.

Trevor Dunn adds:

Recording this record felt like we were finally utilizing our Ph.Ds in Thrash Metal. All we had to do was go back to our original professors for some additional guidance and talk them into joining us. Turns out we were A+ students. We even went for extra credit by revisiting some tunes that we’d given up on back in the day. It was less like a trip of nostalgia and more like the refining of an original, worthy document. We were haunted for 35 years by the fact that this music wasn’t given it’s due respect. Now we can die.


01. Grizzly Adams
02. Anarchy Up Your Anus
03. Raping Your Mind
04. Hypocrites / Habla Español O Muere
05. Bungle Grind
06. Methematics
07. Eracist
08. Spreading The Thighs of Death
09. Loss For Words
10. Glutton For Punishment
11. Sudden Death

The Raging Wrath Of The Easter Bunny Demo‘ pre-orders are available now, with the release available as a standard digipak CD and digitally, as well as a collection of limited-edition offerings:

– CD Digipak
– CD Yearbook – 5000
– Cassette Webstore Exclusive – 500 (sold out)
– 2LP Translucent Ruby Red Vinyl – 6500
– 2LP Webstore Excl. Clear/Black Splatter Vinyl – 1000 (sold out)
– 2LP US Retail Exclusive Clear w/Blood Red Splatter Vinyl – 2000
– 2LP International Retail Excl. Transparent Red Smoke Vinyl – 3500
– 2LP US Webstore T-Shirt Bundle Excl. Silver w/ Red/Black Splatter Vinyl – 1000 (certain sizes sold out)
– 2LP International Tshirt Bundle Excl. Silver w/ Red/Black Splatter Vinyl – 1000 (certain sizes sold out)
– 2LP US Webstore MEGA Bundle Excl. Silver w/Red/Black Splatter Vinyl – 1000 (sold out)

Digital/other Pre-Order options
Mr. Bungle US Merch Store (also exclusive bundles)
Ipecac International Webstore
International exclusive t-shirt/vinyl bundle


Trevor Dunn
Mike Patton
Trey Spruance
Scott Ian
Dave Lombardo

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube | Spotify | Bandcamp



, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,