Premiere: WAXEN HAND Share “Frightful Maw” Video From New Album

Article by: Leanne Ridgeway

Northern California‘s WAXEN HAND is the instrumental metal side-project of Vinnie Guidera. Since COVID-19 lockdowns have indefinitely paused live music since earlier in 2020, Guidera redirected time that would’ve been spent gigging with his main band (Sacramento, California-based indie rock trio Vinnie Guidera & The Dead Birds) toward an instrumental solo album. WAXEN HAND reflects Guidera’s darker, heavier influences that he felt may not come through in the Dead Birds’ songs.

WAXEN HAND‘s self-titled debut is a solo album in the truest sense, with all instruments, production, and artwork handled by Guidera between June and August 2020. The first single “Frightful Maw,” featuring growling bass wah and dual lead guitars, was first released on September 14th as preorders for the album went live.

Today we have a premiere for the new video for that same single from WAXEN HAND. The music video for “Frightful Maw” was directed and edited by Jake Kilgore of atmospheric doom act Chrome Ghost. The video was shot on tape with thrifted handheld cameras and then edited digitally (a combination that defines Kilgore’s signature visual style). Guidera and Kilgore previously worked together on a 2019 video for Vinnie Guidera & The Dead Birds’ “Part of the Act.”

Enjoy the first look at the video premiere for “Frightful Maw” below, then grab a copy of the debut WAXEN HAND album, available now on CD and digital download or streaming via Bandcamp.



01. Death Bag
02. Ripcord
03. Where the Dirt Is
04. Electricity
05. Frightful Maw
06. Gateway
07. From Pure Air
08. Do You Know Who I Am?
09. An Ending


Facebook | YouTube | Bandcamp



, , , , , , ,