Premiere: KOMATSU’s ‘Rose Of Jericho’ Advance Album Stream

Article by: Leanne Ridgeway

Eindhoven, Netherlands‘ massive rockers KOMATSU announced a few months ago [here] of their signing with Heavy Psych Sounds Records for the release of their fourth studio album.

Rose Of Jericho‘ is set for release this week, on February 5th, 2021, and we have an advanced full-stream premiere of the album for you today!

The Dutch stoner metal unit was formed in early 2010. KOMATSU is Mo Truijens (vocals/guitar), Mathijs Bodt (guitar), Martijn Mansvelders (bass), and Jos Roosen (drums). Many years of music experience in all kinds of bands, as well as individual creativity, created a brutal mix of sludge, stoner, and metal. ‘Rose Of Jericho‘ brings a darker heavy blues tint to their sultry musical palette.

The band first released an EP ‘Komatsu‘ in 2011, then their debut full-length ‘Manu Armata‘ in February 2012, followed by their sophomore album ‘Recipe For Murder One‘ in 2016. It showed that the band had gained confidence and featured Nick Oliveri’s vocals on two songs, and also appeared on several year-end lists. In January 2018, the band recorded their third album ‘A New Horizon‘.

KOMATSU‘s powers of mass construction resurrected a rare desert flower in their fourth album ‘Rose of Jericho.‘ Light meets heavy and desolation meets beauty in the nine powerful songs that make up this album. ‘Rose of Jericho‘ combines a lyrical depth that resonates with the current (political) rabbit holes with dark, groovy, warm riffs supporting rugged vocals.

Artwork by Lotte Voorhoeve


01. Stare Into The Dawn
02. Solitary Cage
03. The Suit
04. Blood Moon
05. Son Of Sam
06. Rose Of Jericho
07. Blackbird
08. Call Of The Wolves
09. Om

Produced by Peter van Elderen and KOMATSU, ‘Rose of Jericho‘ was recorded in early 2020 and mixed at Studio Iglesias, Eindhoven. Pieter Kloos once again handled the mastering work at The Void Studio, in Eindhoven. The sound of the album is a real mixture between stoner and metal, but with melodic and choral vocal lines – tempo and rhythm changes make the listener glued to the speakers until the last note of the album.

Hear an advance full-stream of ‘Rose Of Jericho‘ below from Heavy Psych Sounds YouTube stream (also with two singles streaming below via Bandcamp). The new KOMATSU album will be out on February 5th, 2021, from Heavy Psych Sounds.

Pre-save digital HERE or order physical format at these locations: USA | Europe | Bandcamp


Mo Truijens – Lead Vocals, Guitar
Mathijs Bodt – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Martijn Mansvelders – Bass Guitar, Backing vocals
Jos Roosen – Drums

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Website | SpotifyYouTube | Bandcamp | Merch



, , , , , , , , ,