GLORY OR DEATH RECORDS ‘Bow To Your Masters Vol 2: Deep Purple’ Out Now

Glory Or Death Records BTYM Vol2 Deep Purple

Article By: Leanne Ridgeway

The California underground heavy rock and metal specialists at Glory or Death Records present the second installment of its ‘Bow To Your Masters‘ compilation series paying tribute to some of the best in classic heavy rock. Early 2018 produced the first-round with ‘Volume One: Thin Lizzy.

In 2020, the label began to gather some of Planet Earth’s finest underground rock ‘n rollers to come together for a massive tribute to the legendary heavy rock pioneer act Deep Purple. Including reimagined original artwork from Daniel Porta, Carin A. Hazmat, and David Paul Seymour, the ‘Volume Two: Deep Purple‘ compilation was mastered by James Page at Emerald Age Recording.

We have a full stream of the digital release today, along with a six-minute teaser video as well as a full-song visual for your listening and viewing pleasure. All are below, but before you dive in you really should check out this intricate list of acts the label put together for this release. It’s a mind-boggling list of talent.

From legendary heavy bands such as YOB and Mos Generator to newer projects like Asphodel Wine and Big Scenic Nowhere, come wrap your mind around this list of fifteen bands and recording details that Glory or Death Records has involved in the upcoming ‘Volume Two: Deep Purple‘ tribute…


Glory Or Death Records BTYM Vol2 Deep Purple

Volume Two: Deep Purple‘ Tracklist:

01. “Demon’s Eye” – Big Scenic Nowhere
02. “Speed King” – Gygax
03. “Maybe I’m A Leo” – RedWitch Johnny (Ft. Matthew Putman)
04. “Black Night” – Topsy Kretts
05. “Into the Fire” – Saturn
06. “Burn” – High Reeper (Ft. Jillian Taylor of Ruby The Hatchet)
07. “Highway Star” – Great Electric Quest (Ft. Francis Roberts)
08. “Smoke” – Steak (Ft. Chantal Brown)
09. “Love Child” – Mos Generator
10. “Child in Time” – Asphodel Wine
11. “Gettin’ Tighter” – Temple of Love (Ft. Anton Pukshansky)
12. “Fireball” – Red Wizard
13. “Space Truckin’” – KOOK
14. “Pictures Of Home” – Worshipper
15. “Perfect Strangers” – YOB

Glory Or Death Records BTYM Vol2 Deep Purple

Bow To Your Masters Vol. 2: Deep Purple‘ digital release is out now (May 7th), with the vinyl LP expected in November 2021.

A special treat for those lucky enough to order early… In addition to their beautiful rendition of the “Perfect Strangers” track for the compilation, Glory Or Death Records also has a limited edition YOB T-shirt and Fabric Flag available on release day.

Purchases of either the YOB t-shirt or flag will come with a full digital download of the ‘Bow To Your Masters Vol. Two: Deep Purple‘ tribute album.

Order now via Glory Or Death Bandcamp Page.

Glory Or Death Records YOB BTYM Vol2 Deep Purple




Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube | Bandcamp | Webstore


Big Scenic Nowhere: [Members of Fu Manchu, Mos Generator, Yawning Man, and Yawning Sons] Bob Balch (guitar), Tony Reed (bass, vocals, synthesizer, organ), Bill Stinson (drums), and Gary Arce (guitar). “Demon’s Eye” was recorded by Tony Reed (HeavyHead Recording Co.), Dan Joeright (Gatos Trail), and Bob Balch (Bob’s Place); with mixing by Reed at HeavyHead.

Gygax: Bryant Throckmorton (guitar), Eric Harris (bass, vocals), Wes Wilson (guitar), and Daniel “Mucho Drums” Velasco (drums – Great Electric Quest). “Speed King” was mixed by Armand John Anthony.

RedWitch Johnny: Michael Kimble (organ, vocals), Kevin Kimble (guitar, bass, vocals), David Hale (drums), and Matthew Putman (percussion, backing vocals). “Maybe I’m A Leo” was engineered and produced by Matthew Putman at Electric Nebraska in Fort Smith, AR. Mixed by Matthew Putman and RedWitch Johnny.

Topsy Kretts: [Members of Mothership, Crobot, Great Electric Quest, Gygax] Kelley Juett (guitar), Brandon Yeagley (vocals), Chris Bishop (guitar), Daniel “Mucho Drums” Velasco (drums), and David Kent (bass). “Black Night” was mixed by Jeff Owens (Goya, f. Spirit Adrift).

Saturn: Oscar Pehrson (vocals, bass), Ted Carlsen (drums), Linkan Lindgren (guitar), and Robin Tidebrink (guitar). “Into The Fire” was arranged and produced by Saturn, with recording and mix by Carl Isaksson Öberg.

High Reeper: Zach Thomas (vocals), Justin Dipinto (drums), Pat Daly (guitar), and Shane Trimble (guitar, bass). “Burn” features Jillian Taylor (Ruby The Hatchet) on vocals, and was produced, engineered, and mixed by Shane Trimble.

Great Electric Quest: Buddy Donner (guitars), Tyler Dingvell (vocals), Jared Bliss (bass), and Daniel “Mucho Drums” (drums). “Highway Star” features Francis Roberts. Recorded at Delwood Sound, with recording by Steven Hanford (RIP) and Francis Roberts. Mixing by Ian Watts.

Steak: Kip (vocals, Reece (guitar), Cam (bass), and Dean (drums). “Smoke” features backing vocals by Chantal Brown, with recording and mixing by JB Pilon.

Mos Generator: Tony Reed (guitar, vocals), Jono Garrett (drums), and Sean Booth (bass). “Love Child” was recorded and mixed by Reed at his HeavyHead Recording Co.

Asphodel Wine: [Members of SubRosa, Insect Ark, and Minsk] Sarah Pendleton (violin, lead vocals), Zachary Livingston (guitar, bass, vocals), Christopher Bennett (organ), and Andy Patterson (drums). “Child In Time” was mixed by Andy Patterson. Violin and lead vocals recorded by Andy Patterson. Guitar, bass, and backing vocals recorded by CJ Johnson. Organ recorded by Sanford Parker.

Temple of Love: [Members of Mothership, Destroyer Of Light, Witchcryer, Bexar County Bastards] Steve Colca (guitar), Suzy Bravo (vocals), Shea McCoy (guitar), Kyle Juett (bass), Patrick Pascucci (drums), and featuring Anton Pukshansky (keyboards). “Gettin’ Tighter” was engineered and mixed by Anton Pukshansky at Mr. Pink Records in Bastrop, TX.

Red Wizard: Travis Baucum (vocals, harmonica, tambo), Miles Ricketson (lead guitar), Casey Lamontagne (rhythm guitar), David Wilburn (bass), and Shane Kepler (drums). “Fireball” was recorded by James Page and Dan Frick, with mixing by James Page.

KOOK: Karl Larson (guitar), Troy Aschenbrenner (vocals), Eric Wilkins (drums), and Jeff Wilson (bass). “Space Truckin’” was engineering and produced by Chris Hughes.

Worshipper: Jarvis (drums), Bob (bass), Al (guitar left), and JB (guitar right, vocals). “Pictures Of Home” was recorded and mixed by Chris Johnson at New Alliance Audio in Somerville, MA.

YOB: Mike Scheidt (guitar, vocals), Aaron Rieseberg (bass), and Travis Foster (drums). “Perfect Strangers” was recorded by Travis Foster at Acousmatic Sound, with mixing by Fester at The Plague Station.



, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,